Open uri20180323 11366 qve5s2?ixlib=rails 3.0

Bibek Bhattacharya

Writer and Editor at Mint Lounge

Location icon India

I write on travel, music, culture, the arts and art history. My articles have appeared in several publications, including Mint Lounge, Outlook Traveller, National Geographic Traveller, Verve Magazine, Scroll.in and Business Today.

Portfolio

Pop Culture

Mint Lounge
01/20/2018
Frankenstein and Pulp Fiction

The monster and the genre had always seemed made for each other. Reanimated corpses, hubristic scientists, secret laboratories, rogue humanoid creations: each of these tropes scream "pulp"!

Mint Lounge
07/24/2015
A Holmes for every season

From Basil Rathbone to Benedict Cumberbatch, a look at all the celluloid versions of Sherlock Homes

Time Out Delhi
08/01/2014
The Supersonics: Mach 2

A review of the the album Heads Up by the Kolkata-based band The Supersonics

Mint Lounge
05/23/2015
Top of the Food Chain

Our love for the good things of life can make us fall in love with monsters like Hannibal Lecter

Mint Lounge
12/08/2017
A Game of Fans

The best online spaces for fans of George R R Martin's 'A Song of Ice & Fire' books.

Travel

National Geographic Traveller India
02/12/2018
Trekking in Nanda Devi National Park

A short guide to trekking in one of the world's most amazing mountain fastnesses, and who to trek with.

Mint Lounge
01/26/2018
The Snake Lakes of Dhauladhar

High above the Kangra Valley, on the ridgeline of the Dhauladhar Range lies a series of lakes where the snake deities of the Gaddi people live

National Geographic Traveller India
12/07/2017
Bengal Travel Ideas

There is no better time to explore multifaceted Bengal than the chilly winter months. It isn't just the sylvan charms of the Himalayas in the north or the balmy beaches of the Bay of Bengal down south; there is plenty in between.

Outlook Magazine
11/07/2016
Five Great Travel Apps

People are increasingly using dedicated travel apps to enrich their travels. Here are 5 unique apps.

Outlook Money
4/15/2014
Diving in the Andaman Islands

A diver's delight, the unique blend of crystal clear waters, coral reefs and unique sea life offer an experience of a lifetime

Outlook Traveller
01/09/2017
Ladakh: Pilgrim's Progress

Go on a fascinating little Buddhist pilgrimage while attending the Hemis Festival in Ladakh

Outlook Traveller
01/01/2012
Nanda's Secret Garden

A trek into the Nanda Devi National Park in the Garhwal Himalaya

Outlook Traveller
01/01/2016
The Age of Empires

Exploring the 1,000-year-old architectural brilliance of the Chandella dynasty of Khajuraho

Art & Books

Mint Lounge
02/16/2018
David Shelley on Publishing

Hachette UK's new CEO talks about the challenges of publishing in the digital era, the rise of audio, and diversity in publishing.

Mint Lounge
02/07/2018
India's French connection

An interesting exhibition looks at the work of Indian artists who trained and worked in Paris.

Outlook Traveller
10/12/2016
Robert Macfarlane's The Old Ways

An appreciation of Robert Macfarlane's book The Old Ways and his unique style of travel and nature writing.

Business Today
07/07/2011
Restoring Jaipur's Jal Mahal

The painstaking restoration of the Jal Mahal, a medieval pleasure palace in Jaipur, has been achieved with the help of local Rajasthani painters

Mint Lounge
12/01/2017
Always Coming Home

The importance of Ursula K. Le Guin's Science Fiction novels and short stories

Profiles

Mint Lounge
03/15/2018
Stephen Hawking's impact on pop culture

Stephen Hawking’s influence on pop culture extended far beyond his TV cameos, encompassing books, music and the conversation around disability.

Mint Lounge
02/16/2018
With Picasso, there's always a Plan B

A conversation on art conservation and the art of loaning artworks with Bernard Ruiz-Picasso, Pablo's grandson, and director of Museo Picasso Málaga

Outlook Traveller
09/01/2015
In Nanda's Shadow

A profile of Mountain Shepherds, a community-owned Responsible Travel initiative by villagers of a high Himalayan valley

Twitter icon Linkedin icon Email icon